Bobby Knight or Dean Smith

Great college coaches


Bobby Knight’s 1976 University of Indiana Hoosiers were the last Division I National Championship team to go undefeated.  It was the first of three national titles for the Hoosiers under Knight.  They also took all the marbles in 1981 and 1987.  Knight is the only NCAA coach to win an NIT title, NCAA championship, Pan American Gold Medal, and an Olympic Gold Medal.  Knight’s Indiana teams finished under .500 in Big-Ten play only twice.  He was named National Coach of the Year four times and had 21 twenty-win seasons in 29 years at Indiana.  He also led Texas Tech to its best season in years the 2001-2002 season, when his squad made it to the NCAA Tournament.  Knight has had his temper tantrums over the years.  He was suspended in 1988 for throwing a chair, and again in 1993 for shoving his son Pat on the sideline during a Hoosier game.  The record of former North Carolina coach Dean Smith is staggering.   Smith racked up 879 victories during his illustrious 36 years as the Tarheel head coach.  Under Smith, the Tarheels won at least 20 games for 27 straight years and 30 of his final 31.  No other coach has ever had that many 20-win seasons.  His 28-7 record in his last season gave him an NCAA record 22nd season with at least 25 wins.  From 1981 to 1989, the Tarheels were ranked in the final top-ten each year.  Smith’s teams were a dominant force in the Atlantic Coast Conference, perhaps the strongest conference in the nation.  Under Smith, North Carolina had a record of 364-136 in regular season play for a .728 winning percentage.  His Tarheels finished first in the Atlantic Coast Conference 17 times.  The most ever by an ACC coach.  Smith was voted ACC Coach of the Year eight times.


Mikey picks Dean Smith.  Who is your choice?

Facebook Comments