Cale Yarborough Wins Second Straight Daytona 500

February 23, 2013 – Reading about the accident at Daytona International Speedway on the last lap of the Nationwide Series Race that injured a large group of spectators, brought to mind the last time I really payed much attention to the Daytona 500.   It was 1984, when Cale Yarborough took the lead two turns before the finish line to win the race for the second consecutive time.  The great Richard Petty also won the Daytona 500 two years in a row.

Facebook Comments