The 1957 Fighting Irish to the 1982 Georgia Bulldogs

Here are some of my favorite college football teams of all-time.

The 1957 Fighting Irish – This Notre Dame team sticks out because they ended Oklahoma and coach Bud Wilkinson’s 47-game winning streak, beating the Sooners, 7-0.

The 1958 Bayou Bengals – It was exciting to watch this LSU sqad and their rugged do-everything running back Billy Cannon.  Louisiana State won the National Championship that year.

The 1959 OrangemenBen Schwartzwalder’s 1959 Syrcause team, led by  Ernie Davis, won the Cotton Bowl, finished 11-0 , and they were named the National Champions.  Defensively, this team was tough at every position, and opponents had a great deal of trouble crossing the goal line.

The 1963 Midshipmen – Led by Roger Staubach, a versatile and cerebral quarterback who won the Heisman, this Navy squad went to the Cotton Bowl where they lost 28-6 to National Champion Texas.

The 1982 Bulldogs – This  University of Georgia team was exciting to watch because of powerful running back Herschel Walker.  Walker could muscle his way for tough yardage up the middle, and he also had great breakaway speed to the outside.  The Bulldogs lost to National Champion Penn. State in the Sugar bowl.



Facebook Comments