The NBA’s Big Threes

It is a new era of the Big Threes in the NBA.  The defending NBA champion Miami Heat has its big three of Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh, and LeBron James.  Here are some of the best three-man teams throughout history:

Boston Celtics, 1960s

Players:  John Havlicek, Bill Russell, Bob Cousy

Title count:  Cousy won six titles, Havlicek eight, and Russell 11.

Los Angeles Lakers, 1960s

Players:  Jerry West, Elgin Baylor, Wilt Chamberlain

Title count:  Zilch.  They lost the ’69 finals in seven games to the Celtics.  The triumvirate of Chamberlain, West and Gail Goodrich led the Lakers to 69 regular season wins and the title in 1972.

Celtics, 1980s

Players:  Kevin McHale, Larry Bird, Dennis Johnson/Robert Parish

Title count:  Three.   In their prime, Bird, Parish and McHale were considered to be the best front line in basketball.

Lakers, 1980s

Players:  Kareem Abdul Jabbar, James Worthy, Magic Johnson

Title count:  Three.  They were the Showtime Lakers.

Chicago Bulls, 1990s

Players:  Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman

Title count:  Three




Facebook Comments